In The Press

Western Washington SPJ Awards

By: Puget Sound Business Journal
Publication: Awards
Date: May 20, 2006

PSBJ wins Western Washington Sweepstakes Award Staff members of the Puget Sound Business Journal on May 20 won 15 awards from the Society of Professional Journalists, with the newspaper itself winning the Sweepstakes Award for non-daily newspapers in Western Washington. Business Journal staffers won eight first-place trophies, three second-place awards, two third-place awards and two honorable mentions. The awards were for reporting and writing, cartoons and illustrations, photography and cover design. It was one of the newspaper's strongest showings in years. Staff writer Heidi Dietrich and cartoonist Milt Priggee each won two first-place trophies. Other multiple-award winners were photographer Matt Hagen and staff writers Deirdre Gregg and Jeff Meisner. The winners are: Heidi Dietrich, first place, business news; first place, arts and criticism news/features; third place, leisure and lifestyle reporting. Eric Engleman, honorable mention, general news reporting. Deirdre Gregg, first place, government/political reporting; second place, personalities. Matt Hagen, first place, portrait photography; second place, portrait photography. Jeanne Lang Jones, second place, business news. Justin Matlick, first place, leisure and lifestyle reporting. Jeff Meisner, third place, sports reporting; honorable mention, consumer/environmental affairs reporting. Jenny O'Brien and Laura Stumbaugh, first place, cover design. Milt Priggee, first place, cartoons; first place, illustrations. Puget Sound Business Journal, 2006 Sweepstakes Award, Non-Daily Newspapers. The awards were announced at the annual Excellence in Journalism banquet put on by the Western Washington Pro Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists. It is Western Washington's premier journalism event.